Nashville Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer
Uninsured Motorists in Tennessee
Although Tennessee law requires that every car on the road be covered by auto insurance, when families are hit with economic challenges, they sometimes allow their policies to lapse when they fail to pay their premiums. The combination of the high cost of insurance and the poor economy has increased the number of uninsured motorists on the road. In fact, nearly one in every five Tennessee drivers lacks any insurance. Even when a driver carries bodily injury insurance, the $25,000 required by law may not go very far if your injuries are serious. So what happens if an uninsured or underinsured driver smashes into your car and causes a wreck? Or what happens in a hit-and-run accident when you can’t identify the driver?
That’s where uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage can protect you.
WHAT IS UNINSURED MOTORIST COVERAGE?
In Tennessee, drivers are required to carry these minimum amounts of car insurance coverage:
- $25,000 bodily injury
- $50,000 bodily injury when two or more people are hurt
- $15,000 property damage
In addition, your insurance company is required to offer you uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage equal to your bodily injury and property damage limits; if your policy provides the minimum 25/50/15 coverage for bodily injury and property damage, you will be able to purchase that amount of UM coverage.
If you are injured in an accident and the driver turns out to be uninsured, or if your damages exceed the amount the at-fault driver’s coverage, then you will look to your own uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to pay your damages. In this case, your own insurance company will handle your claim as if it were any other liability claim.
WHO IS PROTECTED BY YOUR UNINSURED MOTORIST COVERAGE?
Your UM coverage will also protect you from an uninsured driver if you are injured as a pedestrian or bicyclist, and it will cover other members of your household who are related to you.
If you or a covered member of your household is injured while riding in another person’s vehicle, the policy covering that vehicle will be primary and your own UM /UIM coverage will take a secondary position.
DOES TENNESSEE ALLOW UM “STACKING?”
Some states allow “stacking” of uninsured motorist insurance coverage, meaning that if you own multiple vehicles, you can add the UM coverage together for a higher amount of protection. Tennessee insurance law does not allow for stacking. However, if you are from a state that does and are injured in a Tennessee accident, your stacked coverage will apply.
Experienced Legal Help
If you are injured by an uninsured motorist, there are additional complexities above and beyond a regular liability case. An experienced motor vehicle accident attorney can help you identify all possible sources of coverage.
If you or someone in your family suffered injuries in a motor vehicle accident caused by an uninsured in Tennessee, you should consult with an attorney who regularly handles accident injury cases, preferably one who limits his or her practice to personal injury law in Nashville.
In Nashville, Phillip Miller is among the most experienced personal injury attorneys in practice. He is a board-certified civil trial lawyer with thirty years of experience helping accident victims recover compensation for their injuries. He has earned the respect of his clients and peers as evidenced by his high Martindale-Hubbell and AVVO rankings.
To protect your right to recover compensation for your accident injuries, regardless of whether the other driver was insured, contact the law offices of Phillip Miller for a free review of your case to learn your options.